Kat Martin Banner

Kat Martin Banner

Monday, July 21, 2014

REVIEW: "Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice" by Stacy King

Disclaimer: I received an advanced e-copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Book Release Date: August 12, 2014

Type: Graphic Novel, Manga, Classic, Romance, Historical, Adaptations, Pride, Prejudice, Not as cute as Colin Firth or Matthew MacFayden...

About the book: Beloved by millions the world over, Pride & Prejudice is delightfully transformed in this bold, new manga adaptation. All of the joy, heartache, and romance of Jane Austen's original, perfectly illuminated by the sumptuous art of manga-ka Po Tse, and faithfully adapted by Stacy E. King.

My Review: I am a huge fan of Pride & Prejudice, so I jumped at the chance to review this manga adaptation. Like the original novel, I eagerly gobbled up this manga version in one sitting. The art was very well done, with each character being appropriately distinctive while still showing familial resemblance, when necessary.

The manga version is very faithful to the original novel, which will please both purists and those looking for an alternative to the classic. Reading this graphic novel was like visiting the original story and characters all over again, just in miniature. Author Stacy King and illustrator  Po Tse do honor to the classic story and really make the characters come alive in this different style.

My only complaint is that the story and Elizabeth's character didn't quite pop as much as I would have preferred. If I were to give this version to a struggling or reluctant reader, I'm not sure this version would inspire as much love as the original novel.

Based on this reading, I would gladly pick up other Manga Classics volumes in the future.

Cover Lovin': The cover is elegant, and yet still eye catching. Overall, a very well done cover.

Recommendation: For fans of Pride and Prejudice. As a librarian, I can see giving this adaptation to a struggling or reluctant reader that thinks classics are stupid.

Final Rating: THREE POINT FIVE out of FIVE stars (3.5/5). This is a very good interpretation, and it moves very quickly. As an adaptation, it's hard to not compare it to the original - in which case this falls flat, but anything will. The story was faithful to the original, and it was a fun read, but it lacked the punch of the original novel.

No comments: